Statement of Purpose

There is an historic relationship between the sport of foxhunting and the conservation of open space and natural habitats. In Southeastern Chester County, there exists one of the few remaining rural areas where this historic relationship continues and where open space has been preserved as a result of the efforts of those who have supported and developed Mr. Stewart's Cheshire Foxhounds since 1914. The Cheshire Hunt Conservancy (“CHC”) has been formed for the purpose of better carrying out this conservation and these efforts.

The principal programs through which the CHC intends to pursue these goals are:

  1. Conservation Programs -- through which Subscribers of the CHC may work, in conjunction with other public organizations (such as the Brandywine Conservancy and Cheshire Land Preservation Fund) to encourage the preservation of open space.
  2. Educational Programs -- through which can be carried out programs which support the improved breeding and training of foxhounds, the study of the red fox in its natural (and developed) habitat, and the art of hunting with a pack.
  3. Mr. Stewart's Cheshire Foxhounds -- through which persons sufficiently skilled may participate in the sport of foxhunting consistent with standards of conduct which protect animals and land and people, and
  4. Young Rider Programs -- through which young riders are taught not only the skills of riding but also those elements of personal character and discipline necessary for the proper care and control of horses and hounds, participation in group sporting events, and respect for property.

Contact Information

Cheshire Hunt Conservancy
Post Office Box 528
Unionville PA 19375-0528

Secretary: 610-347-1918
Hunt Information Line: 610-347-1918

CHC Board of Directors

  • Phoebe D. Fisher, MD, MFH
  • Sanna Pell Neilson, MFH
  • W.B. Dixon Stroud, Jr., MFH
  • Chairman Emeritus:
    John B. Hannum, Jr., Esquire
  • President: Jennifer Jones Arms
  • Treasurer: Missy Shaffer
  • Richard Buchanan
  • Michael Bucklin
  • Phoebe Fisher
  • Jamie Hicks
  • Judy Jefferis
  • Ann LaPides
  • Buddy Martin
  • Wendy Powell
  • Sally Reed

CHC Staff

  • Huntsman: Ivan Dowling
  • First Whip: Mackenzie Wertman
  • Honorary Whip: Celia Goodall
  • Groom/grounds: Michael Beeson
  • Hunter Barn Manager: Remy Winants
  • CHC Secretary: Kelley Ford